Portugal. The Man - Discography

from: Wasilla, Alaska, US
genre: Experimental / Progressive / Indie Rock

John Gourley (guitar, vocals)
Zach Carothers (bass, vocals)
Jason Sechrist (drums)
Ryan Neighbors (keyboard, percussion, backing vocals)
Wes Hubbard (keyboards, vocals)
Harvey Tumblson (beats)
Nick Klein (guitar)

Around August 2002, the band Anatomy of a Ghost was formed. Anatomy of A Ghost quickly gained popularity, but before long, the group broke up. Portugal. The Man was originally started as John Gourley's side project, with Zach playing bass. Before they had a drummer, they used drum machines and synth-loops as the backing beat. Through the demise of Anatomy Of A Ghost, Gourley and Zach Carothers teamed up with Wesley Hubbard (of Mash Potato Mitch and the Jet Puff Marshmellow Men), Nick Klein (former guitar tech for Anatomy of Ghost) and Harvey Tumbleson - and formed Portugal. The Man. The band left Alaska and went to Portland with the intent of recording and touring. The band recorded demos in the summer of 2004 and followed this with a tour with Chiodos that fall. In spring 2005, Klein and Tumbleson left the band to pursue other opportunities and soon after Sechrist joined the band.

Musically, Portugal. The Man's style is varied. Their style is rooted in the indie, progressive, and experimental genres, but their songs also contain elements of soul, blues, and folk music. At times, the band chooses to utilize drum machines and/or synth loops to anchor their songs, while at other times, the band chooses to use the more conventional guitar, bass, and acoustic drum configuration characteristic of rock music. The band also utilizes keyboards in much of its music. In addition to their instrumentals, Gourley's distinctly higher-pitched vocals add to Portugal. The Man's unique sound. Lyrically, Gourley provides the band with abstract and/or enigmatic lyrics that rely heavily on imagery. Gourley's verses are usually delivered in the first-person singular or plural.


Anatomy Of A Ghost - Evanesce (2003)
audio: 192 kbps

1. Birth of a Mile
2. Set the Stage
3. Dearest I'll Meet You in the Hollow
4. On to Morning Stars
5. Streetlights, Empty Wells
6. Distress in the Control Tower
7. Since Yesterday
8. Satellites in Fists
9. Beauty Is in Its Embrace
10. In Case of Future Complications
11. Last Transmission


Portugal. The Man - Demo's (2005)
audio: 160 kbps

1. Clips Comprehend (Demo)
2. Showing Teeth (Demo)
3. Waiter (Demo)
4. How The Leopard Got Its Spots (Demo)
5. Pelican (Demo)
6. Monster (Alternate Version)
7. Bad, Bad Levi Brown (Demo)


Portugal. The Man
Under Waves Of the Brown Coat EP (2005)

(Never officially released)
audio: 128 kbps

1. Airballoons
2. Monster
3. Open Wide
4. So You Know
5. Monster 2


Portugal. The Man
Waiter- 'You Vultures!' (2006)
audio: 320 kbps (cd rip)

1. How The Leopard Got Its Spots
2. Gold Fronts
3. Stables & Chairs
4. AKA M80 The Wolf
5. Marching With 6
6. Elephants
7. Waiter
8. Chicago
9. Bad, Bad Levi Brown
10. Kill Me. The King
11. Tommy
12. Horse Warming Party
13. Guns.Guns…Gun

part1 ~ part2

Portugal. The Man
The Pines, The Devil 7" EP (2006)
audio: 256 kbps

1. The Devil
2. The Pines


Portugal. The Man
Devil Say I, I Say AIR (Digital EP 2006)
audio: 160 kbps

1. A.K.A M80 the Wolf
2. The Pines
3. The Devil
4. How the Leopard Got Its Spots (Blake Beatz Remix)


Portugal. The Man
It's Complicated Being a Wizard EP (2007)
audio: 256-320 kbps

1. It’s Complicated Being a Wizard
2. Opal Magic
3. Ruby Magic
4. Sapphire Magic
5. Amethyst Magic
6. Emerald Magic
7. Amber Magic
8. Gold Magic
9. Crystal Magic
10. Black Magic


Portugal. The Man
Church Mouth (2007)
audio: 320 kbps (cd rip)

1. Church Mouth
2. Sugar Cinnamon
3. Telling Tellers Tell Me
4. My Mind
5. Shade
6. Dawn
7. Oh Lord
8. Bellies Are Full
9. Children
10. The Bottom
11. Sleeping Sleepers Sleep
12. Sun Brother


Portugal. The Man
Censored Colors (2008)
audio: 224-256 kbps

1. Lay Me Back Down
2. Colors
3. And I
4. Salt
5. Created
6. Our And In And In And Out
7. Intermission
8. New Orleans
9. Never Pleased
10. Sit Back And Dream
11. Hard Times
12. Our Times
13. All Mine
14. 1989
15. Our Way




Anonymous said...

i hate nothing more than not having a rapidshare account
why dont you guys use mediafire?

Andrés Marafioti said...

great band, great post, txs!