So Many Dynamos

from: St. Louis, Missouri U.S.
genre: Indie / Rock / Electro

In 2004, St. Louis's So Many Dynamos released their debut full length, "When I Explode." It was not an Arcade Fire/Clap Your Hands Say Yeah indie rock breakout success story. It didn't catapult the band onto the front of magazine covers or land them backstage snorting lines off of Jack White's Grammy. It did however, do what debut full lengths should do for young bands from moderately ignored towns on small labels; it exposed the band to those willing to listen, received nods from Spin Magazine and Entertainment Weekly among others, and acted as the hypothetical fuel (read: cheaper than real fuel) to carry a GMC Vandura across over 30 states for over 200 shows. Now So Many Dynamos return with "Flashlights", their second full length for Seattle's Skrocki Records.

"Flashlights" is the sophomore record that young bands from moderately ignored towns on small labels are supposed to make; it expands on their debut in every aspect. The band's unique brand of chaotic pop has been sharpened, refined. The songs are catchier, noisier, dancier, smarter, often weaving in and out, Frogger-style, between anthematic choruses and epileptic freakouts. The band has also learned how the recording studio works, harnessing the urgency of their live performances into ones and zeroes and throwing some unexpected instruments into the fold (4 piece horn section, 30 piece choir, toy accordion, banjo, thumb piano, etc.)

So Many Dynamos - When I Explode (2004)
audio: 160 kbps

1. Bed of Nails
2. The Pros of Being a Con Artist
3. Let's Laugh About It Later
4. Heat/Humidity
5. These Things Happen
6. We Panic in a Pew
7. When We Were Machines
8. A State Without a Springfield
9. Seriously, Now
10. Windows Facing Walls


So Many Dynamos - Flashlights (2006)
audio: 256 kbps

1. Saturday Night/Sunday Morning
2. Search Party
3. Progress
4. Home is Where the Wine Box is
5. How High the Moon
6. In Every Direction
7. Inventing Gears
8. This is Why We Can't Have Nice Things
9. We Vibrate, We Do
10. In Our Sleep
11. Let's Move Mountains



No comments: