(Union of) Uranus

from: Ottawa, Canada
genre: Screamo / Hardcore

(Union of) Uranus were around in the early to mid 1990's and released a demo tape (called the "Backhand Demo", which was later to become their side of the elusive split lp with His Hero is Gone), a split ep (with Quebec crusty band Immoral Squad) and the double ep (which was later re-released as a 12'' on Farewell Records from Germany). Uranus' was more or less based in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, and sort of self-perpetuated the DIY scene at the time, which was loosely organized around a venue/house known as 5 Arlington. Member(s ?) of Uranus lived at the house, which was the hub of activity in Ottawa through it's existence. Many touring bands were brought in, who otherwise might have taken the well-worn route from Toronto straight to Montreal and avoided the smaller city of Ottawa. With an insular scene such as Ottawa had at the time (largely due to the city being relatively small), and it's connection to Montreal, many bands such as Shotmaker, Uranus, Drift, One Eyed God Prophecy, et al. shared resources. Yannick's record label, the Great American Steak Religion, was also responsible for releasing many of these bands, and internationally, the home scene of these bands was probably seen as being larger than it actually was. These years in Ottawa were probably the most active for "crusty" type bands (although there was always an emo aspect to the bands and activities) which, with the demise of Uranus and 5 Arlington slowly vanished. Members of Uranus went to play in bands like Speedy Huffler Kings (drummer), Dead Man's Right Hand (singer), and of course His Hero Is Gone and Tragedy (Yannick).

Union of Uranus - Backhand Demo Tape (1994)
audio: 192 kbps

1. Backhand
2. One Eye Strengthens
3. Weight of Tomorrow
4. Equilibrate
5. Pressure (negative approach)


Uranus - To This Bearer of Truth (2004)
audio: 320 kbps

This CD contains the complete Uranus discography on one disc. Includes the Disaster By Design 2x 7", the split with His Hero Is Gone (demo), Immoral Squad split 7", and a Negative Approach cover (Pressure). The last two tracks include two songs each. I was confused about this first, but that's how it is on the original disc.

1. Panacea
2. Circumstance
3. Face Value
4. Pedestal
5. Revolve
6. Believer
7. Backhand
8. One Eye Strengthens / Weight Of Tomorrow
9. Equilibrate / Pressure



1 comment:

Brenner said...

land shark attack