from: California, U.S.
genre: Mathcore / Chaotic Hardcore

Loftus was a progressive hardcore/noise rock band from 2002 till 2007. The band was based in Seal Beach California and played primarily in and around the southern california hardcore scene. The band toured the west coast of the U.S. in 2005, Europe in the summer of 2006 and played their final show at Chain Reaction in anaheim on January 13, 2007. They released one full length record titled "Hugs and Drugs" on Monarchy Music in 2005 and an untitled 7 inch record that was released by the band in 2006. The band officially ended after the death of lead singer Davis Miller on February 1, 2008.

The band was known for their unique blend of dischordant noise and melody which set them apart from their contemporaries in the southern california music scene. The self titled 7 inch saw a sonic change with the music becoming more and more complex and Miller's vocals shifting from screaming to more of a panicked yell. The band also garnered attention for their high energy live shows and the intense stage presence of singer Davis Miller whose antics were unorthodox and commonly controversial. The band maintained a cult like popularity throughout their career, polarizing audiences to either love or hate them, and continue to gain popularity with new fans who download their music.

Loftus - Hugs & Drugs (2005)
audio: 320 kbps

1. The Condition Of Being Forgotten
2. Survival Of The Lovers
3. Next Step, New Boundary
4. Crusty
5. Bottoms Up
6. Hugs And Drugs
7. This Is Me Driving Slow, This Is You Way Down Low
8. Gimme Greens
9. Sweetheart
10. Permission Confirmed


Loftus - Self Titled 7 inch (2006)
audio: 128 kbps

1. Side One
2. Side Two



No comments: