Charles Bronson - Complete Discocrappy 2CDS (1999)

from: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Genre: Power Violence / Thrashcore
Years active: 1994–1997
Associated acts: Los Crudos, MK-ULTRA, Holy Molar, Das Oath

* Mark McCoy - Vocals
* James Dejesus - Guitar (Disc 1, Tracks 1-10; Disc 2, Track 1)
* Mike Sutfin - Guitar (Disc 1, Tracks 11-17; Disc 2, Tracks 2-21)
* Aaron Aspinwall - Guitar (Disc 1, Tracks 26-56; Disc 2, Tracks 2-15)
* Jeff Jelen - Guitar (Disc 1, Tracks 72-96; Disc 2, Tracks 16-19)
* Jon Arends - Bass
* Ebro Virumbrales - Drums (Disc 1; Disc 2, Tracks 1-19)
* Max Ward - Drums (Disc 2, Tracks 20 and 21)

Charles Bronson was a prolific powerviolence band from Dekalb, Illinois, extant 1994 to 1997. Although they were often associated with the straight edge scene, only two of the members actually abstained from drug and alcohol use. Along with Los Crudos and The Locust, Charles Bronson are partially credited with an "artier" turn in the hardcore punk scene, as well as a revival of thrashcore.

Charles Bronson borrowed from the early powerviolence of Infest, who blended youth crew hardcore with the velocity and dissonance of thrashcore. Songs were very brief, and sometimes punctuated by samples taken from various media (including Charles Bronson films). Lyrically, the group tended towards satirical commentary on the hardcore punk scene. The group has been described as a "fast, screaming mess of tall, skinny guys with a lot to say (which you would only know if you read the liner notes)". The group was sometimes criticized for its conceptual take on hardcore and art school tendencies, maintaining a long-standing feud with Felix von Havoc of Code 13.

Mark McCoy went on to form the thrashcore group Das Oath, with Dutch musicians; Holy Molar, with members of The Locust; and Ancestors, a black metal project. Drummer Mike Sutfin later became an artist.

Album Description:
The album consists of two discs featuring the band's entire recorded repetoire, and was released under the 625 Thrashcore label.

Disc 1:
All of their excrutiating demo, singles, splits, compilation, EP, and who-knows-what-else tracks (96 in all), all done in chronological terror.
Disc 2:
21 additional tracks which, though previously unreleased, are every bit as pungent.


No comments: