The Ladies - They Mean Us (2006)

Rob Crow: co-creator of San Diego's sentimental pop superstars Pinback; leader of absurdist metal outfit Goblin Cock; former leader of Thingy and Heavy Vegetable; former member of Physics; accomplished solo performer in his own right.

Zach Hill: one-half of the outlandish noise duo Hella; member of Deftones side-project Team Sleep; drummer for post-Marilyn Manson/A Perfect Circle stoner-rock combo Goon Moon; one-third of the total sensory-overload that was Nervous Cop (along with Joanna Newsom and a member of Deerhoof). When you want the sound of three drummers playing at once, but only have room for one drum kit, Zach is your man.

Rob Crow and Zach Hill are The Ladies.

Now that we all know who The Ladies are, let's get to the point: They Mean Us is one of the strongest and most unique pop records of the last several years. Produced in various locations over the last 2 years, it is a genuine testament to the magnetic chemistry of Zach Hill and Rob Crow, and a shining example of what these two guys are capable of when they are at their most inspired. More adventurous than Pinback, and more accessible than Hella, The Ladies prove to be the best of both worlds. It's even better than the ideal album you've been making up in your head for the last half decade or so.

The Ladies - They Mean Us (2006)
from: California, U.S.
genre: Math Rock / Indie / Experimental
audio: 320 kbps

1. Black Caesar/Red Sonja
2. Recycler 1a
3. Vacation, Asphyxia, Vacation
4. Empathy on a Stick
5. Recycler 1b
6. Non-threatening
7. Black Metal in the Hour of Starbucks
8. Nice Chaps, Buddy
9. So Much For the Fourth Wall
10. Recycler 2
11. And Them
12. Mandatory Psycho-Freakout


No comments: